A New Machine Knitting Club is Launched on the Westshore Communities

Standard

New Machine Knit Club Launched

What a busy week. I have neglected my poor blog.

I went to a meeting Wednesday.
Thusday we went to our spinning group and met some lovely new fibre that Wendy Mitchel had brought home for her recent European sojourn.

The tops were over 16 inches long and then the bottom was a very cause but prolific shorter fibre

We sat and had a giggle while Wendy and i tried to assemble her new to her Ultimate sweater Maker.

The Ultimate part was putting it together.
Two of us plus reading the manual and we succeeded and between the two of us, knitted 6 inches of stocking stitch in 2 hours.

I know Wendy’s speed of knitting and I would bet hands down on Wendy.

 I note it made it beginnings in Knit shops at price near $300. Later to chain stores for $200 and now is in T.r us
.
I received the following announcement which is note worthy. Please read.

In conjunction with the annual Consider The Lilies Fibre Art Show and Sale at the Heritage Church….(St. Mary the Virgin in Metchosin)…..the Parish is re starting an old tradition of having a Lily Luncheon……this will be held at the big church (same parish) St. Mary of the Incarnation ….4125 Metchosin Road….opposite the Golf course.

The Fibre Art Show and Sale at Metchosin Heritage Church..will run Saturday, April 14 -22…..but

the Lily Luncheon will be Saturday, April 14 from 11:00 to 2:00 pm at ‘the big church”

The lilies at the Heritage church are in full bloom right now and showing their usual amazing display.

Friday we started our new Machine knitting club, which is yet unnamed.
Giselle has some technical problems that need to be addressed before next meeting on the First Friday in May.

[tn_DSCF0003.JPG]

patty-anne was running around  looking for tables and stands, and thinks she has that licked for next meeting.
Leanne was whizzing away on her bulky Brother making a fan lace scarf that is demonstrated on Youtube.
And Joanne was busy falling in love with her immaculate Toyota 950.
We find we are needing  several  cast on combs. If any one has any extra, please speak up.
We found that we could download the manuals for free for most machines at
Remember machine under the bed knitters, the two main things to check on your machine is the sponge bar, and oiling it the metal on the machine especially the moving part, butts of needles, and rails where the carriage runs as well as the underside of the carriage
Use a good quality machine oil.
So lets see our numbers swell bring those beautiful machines out from under the bed, out in the back hall or down in the basement and lets hear then sing.
About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

