Garden and Flu Season

Standard

Next year I will not miss my flu shot. Seven days of nearly drowning in my own juices, and even keeping my dog awake all night with my  coughing.

We finally look like we might have Spring.

The little plants in the greenn house are looking happy.

We try and plant around 24 May  so they are in protection for another month.

They were very late in germinating and sprouting. I guess 7, 9, 11 degree temperatures are not conducive to gardening.

While I was off my feet, I experimented with some needle felting.

I found I really enjoy this . I have a few pieces done now and  hope they will be appealing to custom

ers and find new homes.

I got a nice order for dryer balls, so they are all set to go. I have a variety of colours.

Chelsea is getting tires of not having a real mom to play with. She wants the old mom back.

Talking with my daughter in law today, she says she tried to live a year buying only Canadian products.

She was not able to o

it. Even with diligent shopping, a whopper of a garden and doing all her

own bread and baking.  Maybe we should start bringing some jobs back to Canada.

I read two article this morning. One was that some balls, when bitten open by a dog, can ooze a nasty goo that will plug up their mouth and can

choke your pet.

Right I make food and biscuits. Now balls. THEN, I read one about US milk . Well there I draw the line.

I am proud to say that Canada would not allow the milk producing hormone to infiltrate out milk supply. Way to go Canada Island Farms Forever.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JL1pKlnhvg0

I have sadly neglected my blog. Will try better in future.

Product alert! There are tennis balls made by Tretorn called “Tretorn X” that contain an inert substance which presumably helps with the bounce. However, when the dog pops open the tennis type ball while chewing, the substance makes a terrible gooey mess in their mouth and presents an aspiration hazard.. Here is a picture of one exposing the material inside.It seems that the material is non-toxic. However, it still presents a potential injury problem

About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

2 responses »

  1. I hope that you are fully recovered. The flu is an ugly beastie. Needle felting in on my list of things to try and I have some of the necessary tools and materials to do it. Maybe this afternoon since you’ve mentioned it…maybe it’s time. What did you make?

    • So far 2 teddy of alpaca, a horse alpaca, a rabbit girl in a pink dress pulling a tiny sheep on wheel sheep wool fleece, a blue Canadian duck fleece, a Boston terrior, alpaca, and you don’t need a lot for tools, a wooden skewer for molding arms and legs, felting needles and a piece of foam and a good supply of band-aides.. Scissors, needle darning for attaching hears, small for doing noses and eyes. And that is it.

Leave a Reply

