100 mile Fibre Fair

Standard

Early this morning, Isabel, picket up Rosalie, Pat and myself for a sunny ride to Coombs.

The object of the day was to attend the 100 Mile Fibre Fair.

This was amazing how much and how many types of fibre is grown in the Islands. 

We found raw fibre, roving, dyed and natural, spun fibre, knitted articles and new ideas.

After feeling the gentle Alpaca, the shimmering Kid and Angora, one tends to feel wool nd find it a lot rougher in nature, though in fact it was not.

The silks were in a rainbow  of colour and luxury.

Lucky for me, the Vendors all had little signs that said touch me. And I did for about 4 hours. I did buy as well. No one could resist the seductive fibre.

The colours were stunning and the mind kept saying, I could spin that, I can knit that, I just have to have a bit of that.

I saw Vendors came from Tofino, North Island, South Island and the Gulf Island.  All within 100 miles.

I will let pictures tell the rest of the story.

About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

2 responses »

  1. This was on Vancouver Island at a community called Coombs.
    It was awesome, and I am a sucker for fibre. I bought some shimmering kid angora goat. Oh so soft.
    Wished you could have been there.

Leave a Reply

