Fibrations: Bright Colour and Warm Friendships

Standard

The big day  finally got here. I packed the car, with my sons help  on Saturday.

We followed the well presented map ( Thanks Stephanie and Ryan) and headed for the Orchard in St Ann’s Academy.

We arrived just after 8 and it was a bee hive of activity.

Ewan packed out tent, tables, boxes and bags and my First Aid Gear.

We had a good spot just about  centre of the venue.

It wasn’t long until we had out table set up.

Joanne Burton was there to help look after my table if we had a First Aid call. She brought some charming monkeys all knitted and a variety of colour.

Soon my friend Trish arrived. I knew her immediately. I hadn’t seen her for 45 years or more .

Our mothers were best friends and shared a love of garage sales and Flea Markets. They had a table beside each other every Saturday at the Girl Guide Hall in Duncan.

We re met on the internet when she read about my Sifton Wheel.

She had just acquired  a similar wheel and was having a few problems with it.

In subsequent we discovered the connection to our mothers. We also discovered we were both fibre-holics and we both  were named the same.

We both had worked as nurses, loved rodents ( kept rats as pets). There are other things to many to mention,  but it seems like we are sisters from other mothers.

She immediately dumped her stuff after a hug and headed out to see the site. ( She is from Youbou) so the big city is a major journey for her. I am from Langford and it challenges me at times.

Soon we were spinning side by side with our work horse wheels.

I thought her some basics about needle felting and she told me about combining colours to get astounding shades

She had brought some wonderful fleece she had dyed and gifted me with it.

The scope of items were mind boggling, many needle felters this year, lots of dyed yarn, turned wood articles, jeweler, enchanting children and folks with their dogs.

I didn’t see what she had tucked away in her carry sack LOL. But it looked like she had found some treasures.

She fell in love with a couple of wheels that she tried and I expect we will see some wonderful things coming from  Youbou soon.

We both got some lovely dyes, and Trish had provided me with “recipes ” for making a variety of colours.

The neat thing was, leaving first, Trish forgot her hat.

Home is where you hand your hat Trish, so we will see you soon.

What a wonderful job you did Stephanie and Ryan of Notty by Nature. ( http://www.kbnfibres.ca/) Looking forward to Fibrations 2013.

Photograph courtesy Trish  Waddington

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

7 responses »

  1. Well neither are green, but the one you mentioned is the Ashford Joy. It is a lovely wheel, I used Monike’s last week and it is nice to use. My friend Morticia is saving her pennies for one of those.

Leave a Reply

