Four Women and a Man with Warped Minds.

Standard

Anyone who has followed my log has read about

Lorna Margaret (Colwell) Allen.  She is the author of “Thursday Daughter”and has donated the loom and accessories to the Saanich Historical Artifacts Society. Well we got the loom from the attic and had a good look at it.

Oh dear. It need a lot of TLC. It had rotten cords, a busted shaft, no hoImageImageImageImageoks for the treadles, of course no manual.

Catherine Mick

Then we got some terrific help from  Member’s of the Victoria Hand Weavers and \Spinners in the was of Catherine Mick and Della Wilkins and Glen and Judy Moores from Deep Cove Spinners and weaver.

Over the last couple of weeks, we have scrubbed, repaired, and got a starting a warp on the the loom.. Soon I was looking  around the museum to see what else could fit into our display.

I found a 70 year old ironing board, made by a fellow for his wife, An iron, that you build a little fire in it and it gas a chimney. There is a  dressed dummy with an 1800 taffeta gown

.

Then I found a prefect 1850 Bell Sewing Machine made in 1850 in Montreal. A  galvanized tun, that would do for washing fleece in the old days, Some awesome posters from the BC Museum and a woven chair,
A couple of comfortable chairs, for the knitters who may be there, two spinning wheels, wool winders, swifts, It grows and grows.
It is exciting to see the domestic arts being celebrated.

Out big opening will be at the 15th of September where we are hopeful that

Lorna Margaret (Colwell) Allen will be there to cut the ribbon.

We  have a couple of rug hook frames, so we need some tools and it would be great to get a quilting frame in the “Loft ” also. That is for the future.

About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

2 responses »

  1. What fun and what a great treasure hunt. I got my 2 harness loom in pieces and it made for an interesting project you, you are to be commended on your diligence. I wish I could see the opening.

  2. I wish you could too. It would be great. The ladies dressing the loom are first rate and I am learning so much watching them. and having them exp-lain everything. I am taking pictures to help me remember

Leave a Reply

