Summer Wedding Trip. July 2013

Standard

We went to Smithers  (our final destination) on our summer holidays.

Ewan loaded up the 5th wheel after scrubbing, packing, washing. I just put out what  what I needed and he stowed it away.

We live on an Island and have to take a ferry off.

The sorted jaded look ticketer, look at our unit and said how long? Ewan said 34 ft. She got out her little measuring contraption and said no 44 feet, so charged us $220.

Well that was a bit more than I expected , however we don’t have an option with BC Ferries.

They have offered to look into it if I send the receipts in.

The trip up the Fraser Canyon was interesting. It always amazes me how the Caribou Route was ever achieved in those far back years.

We reached Williams Lake the first night. There the vacant camp site for competitors is used as a camp site for tourists. A good value at $34 for site, water, sewer, electricity and wifi. They have pay showers $1.00 for eight minutes, and a washer dryer.

We arrived at second youngest son Cameron and Deanna Lea’s 160 acre farm in Fort St. John.
They have goats, sheep, horses, chickens, bunnies, and a couple of personality turkeys. Tom will squat in front of you and fluff  his feathers till you scratch his head. Then his wattles go from red to whitish blue.Image

Image

 It is a wonderful

place to raise their children, Saxon and Aurora. Aurora is a real cowgirl.

Looks like her brother will be a singing cowboyImage

We spent a couple of days and had a big supper with the Boys Aunt Marion and her partner Dallas. Later her son Ryan and his fiance came over and a good family gathering was had. It should be mentions, the meat, 4 veggies and potatoes were all raised on the farm.
They have named it Summers End Farm

We left the following day to Journey to Smithers  where the middle son Duncan Lea was marrying the love of his life Corina Brewer.

The trip was not without some excitement. The first 5th wheel tire popped on the steepest hill going out of Fort St John.

All laid too and soon had it changed. The second blow out was a bit more dramatic. We were in the middle of nowhere, 132 km from Prince George.
The 5th wheel was unloaded and Ewan, Marion and Dallas wet to Prince George, purchase a new tire and get it mounted and return to our stranded position. I had the youngest son Chris and my little dog Chelsea.
The trip took most of five hours and we were on the edge of the bank rocking with every passing vehicle.
We were down to just two bottles of water when the bear came out of the bush.
we were now on the side of a busy road locked in a 5th wheel with little water.

I sprayed Chelsea sith my bottle to keep her from stressing. It was with relief when the troops arrived back with the wheel and a new tire.
We stayed at Kerry Lake that night.

I assume it was a logging camp in the 50’s. We found machinery from that era and also a mystery.Image

In the bush, we discovered a First Nations/Catholic marker with either 3 memorials or three graves.

ImageImageImage

We ended up, after a brief stop in Prince George to purchase another tire and have it mounted.

We ended up in Smithers in the early evening as did some of the other family and guest.

We parked the 5th wheel, hugged, bride to be, grand children and met up with another aunt of the boys from New Zealand. Denise Gerrard.

DSC02071

She was under the weather with a cold, but managed to pull herself together for the wedding and the long drive back to Vancouver Island.

The wedding had been orchestrated to perfection.

The men went to a local hotel and did a bit of partying. The following day the men folk went to the golf links, while the women went to hair appointments, and make-up and dressing. 

In due course, we all arrived at the lovely heritage church in

Telkwa,

The wedding was beautiful and was followed by a catered BBQ in the yard where Duncan and Corina live.

Cam lea Several Lea Families the new beginning

About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

