What to do while waiting for Spring.

Standard

I hate winter. I do not ski, board, toboggan or skate. My feet are always cold and I get depressed with the dark gloomy days and grey overcast skies.

I do love to read. And by reading I have come across some interesting articles mostly about Frugal Living.By always being short of money makes me embrace anything that is a cheaper way of doing things and avoiding waste.

I have eliminated all cleaning products in my house other that laundry soap and vinegar and dryer ballsSierra Exif JPEG

Vinegar is a magic liquid.

For the office:

Your computer, printer, fax machine, and other home office gear will work better if you keep them clean and dust-free. Before you start cleaning, make sure that all your equipment is shut off. Now mix equal parts white vinegar and water in a bucket. Dampen a clean cloth in the solution — never use a spray bottle; you don’t want to get liquid on the circuits inside — then squeeze it out as hard as you can, and start wiping. Keep a few cotton swabs on hand for getting to the buildups in tight spaces (like around the keys of your keyboard).

Don’t forget the phone and the mouth piece of your cell for a wipe with vinegar.

A person with smelly feet willbenegit from soaking feet in vinegar and water then carefully dry them. It the shoes or boots smell, cut a potato in half and put half in each shoe/boot. It will leave the smelling like new just over night.

I use it for everything from cleaning the kitchens, the windows, the wall, and the fridge. A good link for this is http://www.rd.com/home/150-household-uses-for-vinegar

I use it to clean my fridge. Far more effective that baking soda. Once I clean the fridge I organize.

One wonderful trick I have learned is to keep crisp for 2 weeks of more. Frost free fridges suck the moisture out of produce. Even in a plastic bag.

So after I have water and spun my lettuce, I store it in a large jar in the fridge. I snap the bottom off because metal knives make lettuce go brown. Pop on the lid and safe crisp storageLettuce in jar
Read more: http://www.rd.com/home/150-household-uses-for-vinegar/#ixzz2xPw8PLbk

 

Another neat trick, is salads. I loves salads, but the limp little puddles in a plastic container does not do it for me.

I get a sealer with lid, put salad dressing in the bottom, then add lettuce, cauliflower, cucumber,tomato, cold boiled egg, nuts. Put the top on and leave in the fridge.

When you want your lunch or dinner, turn upside down a couple of times to distribute the dressing and a lovely fresh cheap salads. The stay cooler than their plastic counter parts and you are more likely to be taken home.

And if yo run lout of glasses this summer, the jars make excellent sturdy drinking glasses.

I will try top get busy with my blog again.

I will talk to you about a lasagna garden

 

About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

