A Day in My Life on The Farm.

Standard

I was just asked what my life was like while I still worked at home. So I tried to walk through a day in my life.

This wasn’t taking into account the haying season, planting season and calving season or butchering . But basically here it is

We had Fairbridge Farms. 1080 acres and 500 head of Ayrshires.
We got up at 5 had a quick coffee went to the barn and started milking. Then we went down for a hot breakfast.
After that all the milking equipment had to be washed. The calved had to be fed. Little ones on a bottle Then the barn was cleaned. By this time it was dinner time.
A hot 3 course meal my mom would have ready We had 2 hired and my step dad , his partner and me.
We had an hour after lunch. the men would nap while mom and I did dishes. No dishwasher here.
After break there was either plowing, seeding, threshing depending on the season and the irrigation would have to be moved. I would take hay on the cart and tractor and feed the steers and heifers.
Special care would be taken to feed the bull.  And early milk from a newly calved cow would be mixed with hog mash for the pigs
There was equipment maintenance, sterilizing the miking parlor turning the calves out for graze, call for AI if a cow was “bulling”.
Something always needed painting oiling weeding.The hay for the next day was tossed down. Sick call for any animal that need attention.
As each cow was milk It’s milk was weighed and logged and when she started to dry, taken out of the line and hopefully an new calved cow was ready to go in so production would be steady.
Don’t forget the field work . We spread the cow muck on the fields, then it was plow in, broken up, seeded, watered till it was ready then if hayed it was threshed and turned the next day and then baled and taken off the field to the barn and up the elevator to the top of the barn.
We hired local teenages to help with this work. But I drove the big truck.
Some where along here you would brake a sheer pin and some one would have to run into town and get some new ones.
The oats were harvested with the harvester then the straw cut down and baled.
We had supper at 6 and then for me it was laundry duty. A big roller iron would all the pants and sheets and all flat things.
I would be responsible for waxing the curved stair case in the hallway.
If I wasn’t ironing, I had the sewing machine out and did the mending and made all mom and mine’s clothes.
Bed time was 9 and I would read a bit or write. This was in 1959 and I was paid $1,65 an hour and my keep. They temporary workers who helped hay were paid $.2,00 an hour in cash every night.and furnace. 
In this time, the men would be hauling and cutting wood for the stove, repairing equipment, and working on the books.
On Sunday we did as little as possible, but we were in church at 10 AM.

.

About Lea Wisdom

I am a fairly happy college educated, widow. A mother of two dependent dogs and successfully raised 6 children to adults I am a science and history loving nerd by nature, print junkie, yarn hording, spinning, weaving,coffee drinking, hand and machine knitting student of life. I make my living from Income Tax Preparations, and the sale of fibre produced goods. Knitting Dryer balls, felting, and yarn. I work with sheep and alpaca fibres and I am constantly learning. I feel like a sponge. There are so many interesting things to learn and do. I hope I have enough time to try them all. I am fortunate that my sons encourage me to try everything that peeks my interest. I have friends who help me learn. Thank you . All of you. Not a complicated person. What you see is what you get. I love the Lord, my family, my country and my friends. I believe we all have the right to dignity. And we only have one trip through life.Let's make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

